what is fifa world cup?

The senior men’s national teams of the members of the Federation International de Football Association (FIFA),

the world’s governing organization of association football, compete in the FIFA World Cup, commonly referred to as the World Cup.

Since the first competition in 1930, the championship has been given out every four years, with the exception of 1942 and 1946

when it was postponed due to the Second World War. France, who won their second championship at the 2018 competition in Russia, are the current champions.

The qualification phase of the present structure determines which teams advance to the tournament phase, and it occurs over the previous three years

32 teams fight for the championship over the course of around a month in the tournament phase at locations in the host nation or nations. The host country(ies) are ineligible by default.

Twenty-one championship matches, with 79 national teams, have been played as of the 2018 FIFA World Cup. Eight national teams have claimed the prize as their own

Click below to view all information