Has Lionel Messi ever won the World Cup?

Spread the love

Rate this post

Has Lionel Messi

The Argentine is presently competing for his country in his sixth World Cup, hoping to win the prized trophy.

After making his debut for Argentina at the 2006 World Cup, Lionel Messi is currently participating in his fifth World Cup at the event being held in Qatar in 2022.

Despite being one of the greatest players in history, Messi has failed to win the World Cup in his previous four efforts.

At the age of 19, he led his country to the quarterfinals on his first try. Argentina was eliminated at the same stage in South Africa four years later, despite Messi having many more possibilities to advance further in tournaments in the future.

The opportunity he had in 2014 was, in fact, the best of his career. Argentina defeated Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iran, and Nigeria in its three group matches before defeating both Switzerland and Belgium in the last 16 and quarterfinals.

Argentina advanced after Messi, Sergio Aguero, Ezequiel Garay, and Maxi Rodriguez all converted their penalty kicks in their penalty shootout victory over the Netherlands in their semi-final match.

Messi’s ambition of hoisting the World Cup trophy, however, was dashed when Germany defeated Argentina in the championship game. He now desperately wants to make amends in Qatar.

Nevertheless, he received the Golden Ball, which is given to the tournament’s top player. He won the award under rather dubious circumstances due to his four goals and an assist, with many detractors arguing that he shouldn’t have been given the honor.

In a thrilling 4-3 loss to France, Argentina was eliminated from the tournament in the round of 16 four years ago in Russia. However, with Messi in great form and seeking vengeance, the South American team may still play France in this year’s tournament final.

Messi has participated in 24 World Cup games overall and scored ten goals.

He has only ever participated in one semi-final and one final, both of which took place the same year. In order for Argentina to win the World Cup and claim the Jules Rimet Trophy on Sunday, December 18, he must guide his team past Croatia in the semifinals and either France or Morocco in the championship game.

Read More

Spread the love
Maznur Rahman
Maznur Rahman
Articles: 287